

& WETA STATE TITLES



30. November & 1. December



Lake Cootharaba Sailing Club 24 Boreen Parade, Boreen Point 4565

NOTICE OF RACE

1. RULES

- 1.1. The regatta will be governed by the rules as defined in the <u>Racing Rules of Sailing</u> (RRS), the <u>special regulations of Sailing Australia</u>, the class rules of the competing boats and by these Sailing Instructions.
- 1.2. RRS rule 44.1 is changed so that the Two-Turns Penalty is replaced by a 360°-Turn Penalty.

2. ENTRIES

- 2.1. Entries are invited from all classes of off the beach monohulls, sailboards and trailer sailers.
- 2.2. The fleet will be divided into 4 divisions using <u>Australian Sailing Yardsticks</u> (YS):

Division 1 - Trailer sailers Division 2 - Monohulls YS 109 to 127.5,

- Division 3 Monohulls YS below 109,
- Division 4 Weta (see attachment A for conditions),
- Division 5 Monohulls YS greater than 127.5.

The Race Committee may change the divisions.

2.3. Eligible boats may enter by using the <u>online registration</u> or lodging an entry form during registration at the club on Saturday 2019-11-30. Payment must be received before 11:00 on 30. November 2019.

3. SCHEDULE

Saturday 2019-11-30	Registration Briefing Race 1 Race 2	09:00 – 11:00 11:00 13:00* back to back with race 1
Sunday 2019-12-01	Race 3 Race 4 Race 5 Presentation	10:00* 12:30* back to back with race 4 As soon as practical after the last race finishes.

* First warning signal not before the time indicated.

BOATING & RV

4. FEES

- 4.1. Competitor 18 years of age and older: \$60 (LCSC members: \$50).
- 4.2. Competitor under the age of 18 years: \$30 (LCSC members: \$25).

5. SAILING INSTRUCTIONS

The sailing instructions will be available when registering.

6. COURSES

Triangular and windward/leeward courses will be used.

7. SCORING

- 7.1. Australian Sailing yardsticks will be used. The race committee may adjust any boat's handicap.
- 7.2. 5 races are scheduled of which one race must be completed to form the regatta.
- 7.3. When less than 5 races have been completed, a boat's final score will be the total of its race scores.
- 7.4. When 5 races have been completed, a boat's final score will be the total of its race scores excluding its worst score.

8. PRIZES

- 8.1. Overall prizes in each division.
- 8.2. Best sailor under the age of 18 in each division.
- 8.3. Classes of 5 or more boats may be awarded prizes.
- 8.4. Other prizes may be awarded.

9. DISCLAIMER OF LIABILITY

Competitors participate in the regatta entirely at their own risk. See rule 4, Decision to Race. The organizing authority will not accept any liability for material damage or personal injury or death sustained in conjunction with or prior to, during, or after the regatta.

10. TELEVISION AND PHOTOGRAPHER'S RIGHTS

Competitors give permission for video footage or photographs of themselves or their boat to be published in any media for press, editorial or advertising purposes.

11. INSURANCE

Each participating boat shall be insured with a third party insurance with a minimum cover of \$5 million per event.

12. FURTHER INFORMATION

For further information please contact: <u>rearcom@lcsc.org.au</u>.







Eligibility:

- 1. The championship is open to all Weta 4.4 class boats.
- 2. All boats must comply with AWCA provisional rules which can be viewed at tinyurl.com/awca-rules2019
- 3. All competitors must be current financial members of the AWCA Inc. and a financial member of a club affiliated with Australian Sailing.
- 4. In the event of dispute or protest it is the sole discretion of the AWCA Inc. to determine a boat's eligibility to compete.
- 5. Ancient Mariners will be competitors over 70 years old as of 29. November 2019.

Conditions of regatta:

- 1. The regatta will be conducted by the Lake Cootharaba Sailing Club under the instructions laid down in the Monomasters notice of race and sailing instructions.
- 2. Competitors are reminded that Boreen Point is a small community and respect should be given to members of that community with regard to parking of cars and trailers.

Please note as per the resolution passed at the 2019 AGM:

For the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 Australian sailing seasons, although the SQ sail is the official race sail, Pin head mainsails as supplied by the manufacturer may be used in Weta events at the owner's discretion without restriction. There will be no handicap applied for using this sail.

